Seven Deadly Sins


Where can I find the scriptures that refer to the 7 sins that God hates?


God hates all sin and cannot be in its presence or even look upon it. It took the death of His Son to cleanse us so that we could one day dwell in Eternity with Him.

That said, Proverbs 6:16-19 reads:

There are six things the LORD hates, seven that are detestable to him:

haughty eyes, a lying tongue, hands that shed innocent blood, a heart that devises wicked schemes, feet that are quick to rush into evil, a false witness who pours out lies and a man who stirs up dissension among brothers.

If you’re thinking of the Catholic Church’s list of 7 deadly sins, compiled by Pope Gregory, here they are.

Pride (Vanity).
Anger (Wrath).
Greed (Avarice or Covetousness).
Slothfulness (Laziness)